Feeds:
Posts
Comments

Archive for September 15th, 2011


THD At-Home services

THD At-Home services

Well, 8PM rolled around & sure enough I got a reminder call about my appointment tomorrow, as well as the following email:

Well, it looks like I can’t post the rest of the email, because at the bottom it says: The information contained in this e-mail and any attached documents may contain information that is confidential or otherwise protected from disclosure. If you are not the intended recipient of this message, or if this message has been sent to you in error, please immediately alert the sender by reply e-mail and then delete this message, including any attachments. Any dissemination, distribution or other use of the contents of this message by anyone other than the intended recipient is strictly prohibited.

But one nice thing is that they have a special website for Home services customers that let’s you track your project, and they have a test login so you can try it out ahead of time. Nice feature.

Read Full Post »


Home Depot At-Home Services

Home Depot At-Home Services

I’ve been putting this project off for quite a while, but have now come to the conclusion that the 2 rotted casement windows may very well fall out of the house this winter.

Today I went to the Home Depot window department to find out about how windows and contractors. I already knew that I wanted to replace the casements with double-hung tilt-ins, so at least that part was decided. I also knew that I wanted wood inside, vinyl clad outside, because every other window in the house (built in 1974) has finished wood inside.

I was lucky that someone was at the desk when I got there, but unfortunately he wasn’t the window person. He called someone over, & luckily I didn’t have to wait too long.

She knew a lot about the windows, and was able to give me some prices based on some rough measurements that I had taken. She was also able to explain how their system of contractors works, and that all contractors are actually Home Depot employees, and not sub-contractors.

I decided to make the no-charge no-obligation appointment, & was surprised when she said “the earliest appointment that I can give you is Friday”. Well, considering that it was Thursday, that sounded terrific. She said that I would get a reminder call from the main office, and another from the contractor (probably my misunderstanding, as it turns out he’s a sales guy) before he comes to the house.

Read Full Post »