Feeds:
Posts
Comments

Archive for September 28th, 2011


THD At-Home Services

THD At-Home Services

I have to admit that THD Home Services seems to respond promptly to issues with customers (of course, they are still trying to get my business). I got a call from Tom, who is Jim’s manager. Tom is a real people person, & he listened to my tails of woe with previous contractors & why I was worried now I made it very clear that Jim had been prompt & very professional when I met him, and that I didn’t know what had gone wrong.

My big concern was handing over money & then never hearing from them again. I had already been through this with Overhead Garage Door, who had my money for a door I was supposed to receive in 2 weeks, & who would not take my calls over several months. They finally answered the phone when the contractor who was replacing the garage floor called them. Don’t get me started with the whole woman vs contractor issue…..

In any event, Tom listened to everything, & we agreed to set up another appointment with Jim. I was a little concerned because Tom said the windows would be installed within 4 weeks, but Jim had told me 4-6 weeks, and the lack of being on the same page seemed like an issue. He also went into great detail about how Home Depot goes out of it’s way to ensure that everything goes smoothly and that the customer is happy, & expressed more than once that the whole reason for Home Depot’s existence was due to people having contractor issues…..

Read Full Post »


THD At-Home Services

THD At-Home Services

2 hours after sending my message to HD, I got a response from a nice fellow who doesn’t sound like he’s in India. Geoff had clearly read my message, and said that he had contacted our At Home Services Department and notified them that I have not been contacted for installation. He also said that he would follow up with me again by Friday 9/30 to ensure that the matter has been properly addressed.

Grateful for having a real person respond, I sent back an email that said:

Thank you for getting back to me Geoff. My concern now has to do with the issue of placing an order, and I assume having to put down a deposit. Twice now I have had to find another route in order to expedite this project. Theoretically, I could put down a deposit and then have to spend my time trying to get someone to let me know what’s happening, which could put me well into the winter trying to get my money back and finding another contractor.

1) Will I be required to put down a deposit for the windows & installation?
2) Will I get a time frame for the project in writing?
3) What guarantee does Home depot give that the project will start within the time frame that I am given? That is, is a discount provided or what recourse do I have at that point?

I hope that you will understand my concern considering my experience so far.

Read Full Post »


THD At-Home Services

THD At-Home Services

OK, it has to be in the contractor gene. I was supposed to get a call back on Tuesday and now it’s Wednesday. I shot off an email to HD through their online form. Wish I remember what I said, but I remember it ended with saying I was going to Lowes.

I got an automated response pretty quickly saying that my message had been received…

Read Full Post »